Memoir.. Forensic Psychology

In the year 2009, my life and my view on the law changed dramatically. On November 3, 2009 there had been a murder occur in my household. When you think of a murder you think of blood everywhere and just horrible scenery but that wasn’t the case.

On the day of November 3, it started off as a regular normal day. My day consisted of myself waking up for school. I was fifteen and just recently started my freshman year at Taunton High School. After school I would go on with what I normally did which was homework and watch my ten month old brother. When coming home I was always greeted with my uncle, my grandparents and of course, my little brother. Like you would think, a normal day.

Later on in the night everyone was home, including my parents and we were all getting ready to just go to bed. I had put my brother to sleep and laid down in my bed to text my friends. As I was doing that I just heard a big thump and my chandelier in the living room rattle. I got scared and jumped out of my room into the kitchen where I had seen my mom run to the back door. Once she had open the door my uncle had appeared and said “Lock all the doors and don’t unlock them until I come down and tell you.” My mom had turned around to me and yelled for me to go into my bedroom. I didn’t want to go but she had persisted on me going and I was nervous. My mom on the other hand did not listen and went to see what was wrong.

So many thoughts were roaming in my mind and I made the decision to leave my room and go see what was going on because the anticipation was killing me. I finally go out to see my uncle freaking out and my parents just talking to him.  My parents had looked at me and said everything was ok just going to sleep but I know deep inside something was wrong. They had left with my uncle but at the time I didn’t know where.

The next morning I had woken up and to find detectives all over the house and investigators with their equipment. I was left with unanswered questions in my head to deal with in school. While being in school that day I was very quiet and just not myself. I just wanted answers on to what went on. When finally getting home, my parents and family where all there. They weren’t at work where they should have been. So when finally walking in, my mom and dad had told me the police had taken my uncle into custody. I had asked why and they had told me his friend who was with him the night before had passed away.  When telling me that I was just asking question after question. They had told me his friend was beaten, and that he was alive after it had happened but soon took a toll over his body. I just went in my room to cry. My uncle is my best friend and had done everything for me I just wanted to know why they took him, and I was just also in shock as to what had happened.

Now I’m guessing you all are wondering why, and for what? Well now this is when my curiosity in law emerged. My uncle was taken in for first degree murder. First degree murder in my own words is when someone had premeditated, meaning planned out the death of a person and following through with it.

So with the following weeks and months, my uncle was in custody for three years for first degree murder. Throughout these three years I just tried to piece together what was going on and what had happened up there and to tell you, the main reason were drugs. Jealousy and greed was the result to the man’s death.

When the trials came to a beginning in the year 2013, that’s when pieces of the scene had come together. I had attended most of the trials to support my uncle. While trials were happening I would listen to every single word and detail the DA was saying. They had tried to make it seem like my uncle was the man filled with greed and anger. In the days winding down it was nerve wracking and there was a sense of discomfort. The male’s family who had passed away was there and you can sense the discomfort and anger. But in my mind I feel they should consider and realize their son, brother, nephew, grandson was also involved with drugs and wrong in some way but the outcome tragically ended his life.

But when the day had come to the verdict that’s when my life made a complete turn. My uncle was found guilty of first degree murder with no chance of parole. My uncle was given the chance to agree on killing this man for possibility of 25 years with a chance of parole but my uncle did not agree, and decided not testify . And that was a man who is confident in knowing he did not do anything. But I just broke down and felt my heart just crushed, like someone squeezed me so hard and no way of me breathing. And my uncle had looked back at my family and I and whispered its ok. When he did that, to me it felt like he was saying goodbye.

After this experience, I have made decisions to pursue my career in forensic psychology. Forensic psychology deals with the legal system and mental state of prisoners, juveniles or families of victims. It has sparked my interest to work with others dealing with situations like this and coming to terms and having to accept decisions made.  But also try and change how people perceive criminals and also work with criminals and treatment of their behavior.  But also work with staff in training support of understanding situations. It is a very interesting and motivational career.

Also, I’ve been more in tuned with what is going on in the world. I was curious as to how much of these situations are around and just in general what’s happening. I read the Taunton Gazette almost every day and see what is going around my town and also just news around the world. And when I started doing this I did not realize the existence of this much crime or deaths occurring. So I feel working with the legal system, I can come to terms with what actions they take on making our society better.

 

Actual Picture during the Trial .

Actual Picture during the Trial .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *